How To: Heated Eyelash Curler Wands

I used to curl my lashes pretty religiously when I was in my 20s, but somewhere along the line that part of my beauty routine fell to the wayside. I expect that happened about the same time I started working 75 hours a week and barely had time to sweep on mascara, let alone attempt anything as frivolous as curled lashes.

Over the last–what?, year or so?–I started seeing various little eyelash curling wands. My initial reaction was always, What exactly is that? I wonder how you use it? And, that was about it.

I never really gave them much thought–until recently.

Over the last few months, two things happened that finally piqued my curiosity for these new little tools. First, I noticed that my eyelashes have started thinning, particularly around the inner third of each eye. Secondly, my beautiful girlfriend Kyle (we’ve been best friends since college) came down to visit and I noticed how much her curled lashes stood out–and I was a little jealous, lol.

So, during my recent unplanned splurge at Sephora, I decided to pick up their version. Truthfully, I’ve found Sephora’s beauty tools to be a little hit or miss (one lip brush I bought broke the first time I tried to use it), but at $16, I figured what the hell.

The tool is itself looks very similar to an eyelash comb, and has a heated element in the middle of it.

First, I tried the wand out according to the directions provided, which say to use it after you’ve applied your mascara. It states that the wand basically heats the waxes in the mascara to produce a long-lasting curl.

I did not like this effect. It seemed to make the mascara clumpy and I couldn’t get a good curl with it.

I’ve never been one to follow rules or instructions, so I decided to do some experimenting. And…Voila! Beautifully curled lashes that really stand out!

On the left, my bare, normal lashes. On the right, my lashes after curling; no mascara.

Please note: In all these pictures I have on not a stitch of makeup, lol. And, I’d been traveling on business for several days, so I look awful. Please ignore all the dark circles, puffiness and wrinkles. I swear I don’t usually look this bad!  🙂

Here’s how to get the same result:

  1. First, make sure you’re not in a hurry, lol.  This is not a quick process, so it’s best reserved for special occasions or when you have plenty of time to do your makeup.
  2. Starting with clean, bare lashes, first run an eyelash brush through your lashes to fluff and separate them.
  3. Give the curler a good 30 seconds to a full minute to heat up. It says it only takes 15 seconds, but I like to give it a bit longer to make sure the heat is at full power and equally distributed.
  4. Place the curler along the base of your lashes, applying slight upward pressure. Do not move the curler or comb-through your lashes. Hold for a count of three or so. (A word of warning:  It does feel rather odd to be holding something so hot next to your eyeball. But at no point did I burn myself or have any other such issues with it.)
  5. Next, rotate the wand toward your lid by 45 degrees, applying a slight downward pressure. Again, do not move the curler or comb-through. Hold for a count of four.
  6. Repeat the previous two steps until all of your lashes are curled at the base.
  7. Next, hold the wand against your lashes, about half-way up. Rotate the wand 45 degrees towards your lids, applying a slight downward pressure. This will give you the second, extra curl that prevents a standing-straight-up look. Repeat across all your lashes.
  8. Apply mascara as usual.

I am thrilled with these results! I’m pretty doubtful that this particular wand will last very long. The overall quality seems really low. When and if this one breaks, I will definitely be investing in a higher-end version. Now that I’ve finally discovered this tool, I completely hooked!

Top: Bare, normal lashes. Center: Bare, curled lashes. Bottom: Curled lashes with one coat of Maybelline Define-a-Lash Mascara

Top: Bare, normal lashes. Bottom: Curled lashes with one coat of Maybelline Define-a-Lash Mascara

Leave a Reply

