Summer Essentials: Bliss FatGirlSlim

In my 20s, I never gave cellulite a thought. I’m not sure if that’s because I didn’t have any, or that 20 years ago it wasn’t such a big topic.

Today, I definitely have cellulite — mostly because I haven’t been at my ideal weight for quite sometime. Even so, most of the year it’s not something I’m really concerned about. But when the season of shorter skirts, even shorter shorts and the all-revealing swimsuits comes around — then I start to think about it.

It’s not that I’m self-conscious about the ripples on my thighs or my behind. I’ve never had an “OMG, they’re going to see all my cellulite!” feeling. I just don’t believe people are scrutinizing me that closely (and if they are, who needs ’em!).

But there’s something about summer that just makes me want to look as pretty as I possibly can. It has to be all the sunlight. The sunlight makes me happy. And when I’m happy, I feel pretty. So I just naturally want to look as pretty on the outside as I feel on the inside. Plus, I always get a little extra boost of confidence from knowing I have taken absolutely miraculous care of myself.

So, every summer Bliss’ FatGirlSlim becomes one of my BBFs. This cream does a fabulous job of making my thighs look smoother, the skin tighter and even a little glowy.

I can’t say it actually reduces my cellulite. But I can say it definitely reduces the appearance of it. And apparently I’m not alone. According to the manufacturer’s website, 87% of testers saw a firming effect, 85% felt a slimming effect and 73% saw a reduction in the appearance of their cellulite.

The cream has a very light feel to it, not at all heavy. The fragrance is light as well — very fresh and clean (and most importantly, doesn’t set off my allergies!).

Although the directions say to use it twice a day, I usually just use it on the days my legs will be showing most. To apply it, you want to spend a few minutes really massaging the cream into each area. Bliss also sells a Stimulator you can use with the product, which I have. But honestly, I prefer massaging it in with my hands. I like the feeling of it and get some sort of weird “kneading dough” satisfaction from the experience.

At $32, it’s not exactly inexpensive, but the one jar I go through each season doesn’t break my budget too much.

Bliss also makes a PM version of the product called FatGirlSleep. I had good results with it, but the lavender fragrance is very strong and gave me a headache. If you any perfume allergies, I recommend staying with the daytime version.

Available on the Bliss website and at various retail locations.

Leave a Reply

